**ENGLISH** only



## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council No. 1307 Vienna, 25 March 2021

## EU Statement on the constitutional reform in Kyrgyzstan

The European Union thanks the delegation of the Kyrgyz Republic for its regular updates on the elections and the constitutional reform. We welcome the cooperation between the Kyrgyz Republic and the Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights and the Council of Europe.

The Council of Europe Venice Commission and ODIHR have issued a Joint Legal Opinion on the draft new Constitution of the Kyrgyz Republic. The Opinion concludes that some provisions threaten the necessary balance of power and the protection of individual freedoms, essential to democracy and rule of law. Among other recommendations, the Venice Commission and ODIHR suggest to review the powers given to the President, in order to ensure the separation of powers and to safeguard the independence of the judiciary branch. The Opinion also highlights serious shortcomings regarding the procedure leading to the adoption of the draft proposed for a referendum on 11 April 2021, including the lack of an informed, inclusive and meaningful consultation process.

The European Union reiterates its position that respect of democratic principles and fundamental rights and freedoms must be ensured, in line with international standards and the Kyrgyz Republic's international commitments. To this end, the Joint Legal Opinion of the Venice Commission and ODIHR should be taken into consideration in the draft new constitution.

The European Union reiterates its support to the Kyrgyz Republic in advancing its reform agenda and addressing the challenges it faces.

The Candidate Countries REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA\*, MONTENEGRO\*, SERBIA\* and ALBANIA\*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND and LIECHTENSTEIN, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE and CANADA align themselves with this statement.

\* Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.