PC.DEL/79/10 11 February 2010

ENGLISH only

2010.es M/

Spanish Presidency of the European Union

OSCE Permanent Council No. 794 10 February 2010

EU Statement on the death penalty in the US

It is with deep regret that the EU has learned that an execution is set to be carried out in the State of Arkansas on 16 March 2010. The execution of Mr. Jack Harold Jones Jr. would break the de facto moratorium in the State of Arkansas, where the last execution took place in November 2005.

The European Union reiterates its longstanding position on the use of death penalty. We oppose the use of capital punishment in all cases and under all circumstances and have consistently called for its universal abolition. The EU recalls the resolution adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on 18 December 2008 that reaffirms its resolution adopted in December 2007, which expressly calls upon all states that still maintain the death penalty to establish a moratorium as a first step towards abolishing the death penalty.

The EU is of the firm view that nations which have not as yet abolished the use of capital punishment should not impose this punishment when a de facto moratorium has been in place for an extended period.



While we are aware of the suffering of the victims of violent crime and their families, we recall that with capital punishment, any miscarriage of justice from which no legal system is immune, represents an irreversible loss of human life. The EU believes that the abolition of the death penalty is essential to protect human dignity, and to the progressive development of human rights. The EU considers capital punishment cruel and inhuman and it has not been found to act as a deterrent. Consequently, the death penalty has been abolished throughout the European Union.

Taking account of these factors, the EU calls upon the appropriate authorities in the State of Arkansas to continue the moratorium on executions and urges them to grant Mr. Jones relief from the death penalty.

The EU trusts that the Government of the United States of America will ensure that the appropriate authorities in the State of Arkansas will be informed of this statement.

Los países candidatos TURQUÍA, CROACIA* y la antigua REPÚBLICA YUGOSLAVA DE MACEDONIA*, los países del Proceso de Estabilización y Asociación y los países candidatos potenciales, ALBANIA, BOSNIA Y HERZEGOVINA, MONTENEGRO y SERBIA, los países de la Asociación Europea de Libre Comercio y los miembros del Espacio Económico Europeo, ISLANDIA, LIECHTENSTEIN y NORUEGA, al igual que UCRANIA, la REPÚBLICA DE MOLDAVIA y GEORGIA se alinean con esta declaración.

*Croacia y la Antigua República Yugoslava de Macedonia siguen perteneciendo al proceso de Estabilización y Asociación.