The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States. PC.DEL/1233/19 5 November 2019

ENGLISH only



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council No. 1245 Vienna, 31 October 2019

EU Statement on Journalists affiliated with Radio Ozodi in Tajikistan

The EU is concerned about the situation of media freedom in Tajikistan. The Tajik government has refused to issue accreditation to a number of media actors working with Radio Ozodi, the Tajik Service of Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty (RFE/RL). Among these is the RFE/RL Dushanbe correspondent Barotali Nazarov, whose withdrawal of accreditation was reported by the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media in June this year. We positively note that 7 journalists received their accreditation today. Our understanding is that the credentials of two journalists will expire on 1 November and we look forward to receiving news regarding their situation.

We echo the RFoM in his recent statement that accreditation should not be used as a means to control content or restrict the free flow of information. We join the Representative's call on the Tajik authorities to reinstate Barotali Nazarov's accreditation and to issue accreditation to his colleagues at RFE/RL.

We urge Tajikistan to comply with international obligations and OSCE commitments with regards to freedom of the media and freedom of expression. We recall that in Istanbul in 1999, participating States committed to taking all necessary steps to ensure the basic conditions for free and independent media and unimpeded transborder and intra-State flow of information, which we highlighted to be an essential component of any democratic, free and open society.

The EU remains committed to a continued dialogue with Tajikistan on human dimension issues, including through the regular EU-Tajikistan human rights dialogue, the last meeting of which took place on 26 October 2018.

The Candidate Countries REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO* and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, the EFTA country ICELAND and CANADA align themselves with this statement.

* Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.