

PC.DEL/952/17 7 July 2017

ENGLISH only

## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council No 1152 Vienna, 6 July 2017

## EU statement on the Death Penalty in the United States

The European Union is deeply concerned by the latest developments in the United States regarding the death penalty case of Mr. William Charles Morva, a Hungarian-American dual citizen, in the US State of Virginia.

It is with deep regret that the EU has learnt that the execution of Mr Morva is expected to be carried out today, 6 July 2017, and that numerous calls for clemency, including by the European Union, went unheeded. We note with deep concern that there is evidence to show that Mr Morva is suffering from severe mental illness. The EU remains particularly concerned by the imposition of the death penalty in cases of persons suffering from intellectual disability or mental illness, which is contrary to widely accepted human rights norms and to the minimum standards set forth in several international human rights instruments.

While we recognise the serious crime involved and extend our deepest sympathy to the families and friends of the victims, we reiterate our firm opposition to the use of the death penalty at all times and in all circumstances, even when backed by due process in a society based on the rule of law. The death penalty is incompatible with human dignity, it is an inhuman and degrading treatment, it does not have any proven significant deterrent effect and allows judicial errors to become irreversible and fatal.

The EU will continue its long-standing campaign for a global abolition of the death penalty, including within the OSCE. We call on the United States and Belarus, the only two countries in the OSCE who still apply the death penalty, to introduce a moratorium on executions as a first step towards full abolition.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA\*, MONTENEGRO\*, SERBIA\* and ALBANIA\*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

\* The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.