



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council Nr 911 Vienna, 10 May 2012

EU statement on the Serbian parliamentary and presidential elections

The European Union congratulates Serbia on the free and peaceful national elections held on 6 May. We look forward to the second round of presidential elections and to the rapid formation of a new government committed to reforms, regional cooperation and further progress towards Europe.

We welcome the preliminary conclusions of the International Election Observation Mission (OSCE/ODIHR, OSCE PA and PACE); that voters were provided with a wide degree of choice, that the campaign showed respect for fundamental civil and political rights, and that there was a high degree of confidence in the professionalism of the election administration. We note that the preliminary conclusions also identified some areas for improvement, notably on the need for more balanced media coverage and greater transparency over voter registration. We encourage Serbia to work with the ODIHR to implement recommendations in its final report.

We welcome the peaceful and orderly conduct of the Serbian presidential and parliamentary elections in Kosovo, and the responsible approach taken by all sides. We underline once again our appreciation for the role played by the OSCE in facilitating voting in those elections, which provided an opportunity

for democratic participation in a challenging environment, and we commend the tremendous efforts of its staff in delivering a credible operation at such short notice. We welcome also the role played by all international and local actors, in particular EULEX and KFOR in providing security.

We call on all parties to continue to take a responsible approach, particularly in advance of the second round of the presidential elections on 20 May.

The Acceding Country Croatia*, the Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro* and Iceland+, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova, Armenia, Andorra and San Marino, align themselves with this statement.

- * Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.
- + Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.