

PC.DEL/233/13 15 April 2013

ENGLISH only

## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council Nr 947 Vienna, 11 April 2013

## EU statement on the pardoning of Yuriy Lutsenko

The European Union would like to draw the attention of the Permanent Council to the Joint Statement by EU High Representative, Catherine Ashton, and Commissioner Štefan Füle on the pardoning of Yuriy Lutsenko:

"We salute that President Yanukovych has exercised his prerogatives of pardoning in the cases of former Interior Minister Yuriy Lutsenko and former Environmental Protection Minister Heorhiy Filipchuk. We welcome the release from prison and return to his family of Mr Lutsenko on Sunday.

This is an important step by the Ukrainian authorities in addressing the concerns regarding the matter of selective justice. We commend the important contribution the European Parliament's monitoring mission to Ukraine headed by former Presidents Cox and Kwaśniewski has made in this context.

We now look forward to Ukraine addressing without further delay the outstanding case of selective justice and preventing any recurrence of selective justice by a comprehensive judicial reform in line with European standards, in order to fully implement the conclusions of the 10 December 2012 Foreign Affairs Council and the joint statement of the 25 February 2013 EU-Ukraine Summit."

As we stated in response to Foreign Minister Kozhara when he addressed the PC in January, Ukraine will have our full support for all its efforts to defend the core values and principles of the organisation. In this regard we expect Ukraine, as the Chairmanship, to take a leading role in upholding and promoting all existing commitments across all three dimensions.

The Acceding Country Croatia\*, the Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia\*, Montenegro\*, Iceland+ and Serbia\*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this statement. \* Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.