

**ENGLISH** only

## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council Nr 898 Vienna, 19 January 2012

EU statement on the Mongolian Parliament's ratification of the Second Optional Protocol to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights aiming at the abolition of the death penalty

The European Union would like to draw the attention of the Permanent Council to the "Statement by the spokesperson of the EU High Representative Catherine Ashton on the ratification by the Mongolian Parliament of the Second Optional Protocol to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights aiming at the abolition of the death penalty" issued on 13 January 2012 in Brussels:

"The High Representative welcomes the ratification by the Mongolian Parliament on 5 January 2012 of the Second Optional Protocol to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights aiming at the abolition of the death penalty, which follows the moratorium on the use of the death penalty established in January 2010.

The High Representative congratulates Mongolia on this historic decision. The EU considers capital punishment to be a cruel and inhuman punishment which fails to deter criminal behaviour and which represents a grave denial of human dignity and integrity. In the light of this ratification, the High Representative

encourages the Mongolian authorities to take the necessary steps to amend the Criminal Code so as to abolish the death penalty in national law."

Finally, with reference to Mongolia's application to become a participating State of the OSCE, we look forward to early action by the Chairmanship in taking this application forward.

The acceding country CROATIA\*, the candidate countries THE FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA, MONTENEGRO and ICELAND\*\*, the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates countries ALBANIA, BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA and SERBIA, the European Free Trade Association countries LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA, ANDORRA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

\*Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Montenegro continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

<sup>\*\*</sup>Iceland continues to be a member of EFTA and the European Economic Area.