



OSCE Permanent Council Nr 1018 Vienna, 9 October 2014

EU Statement on the Inauguration of H.E. Dr Ashraf Ghani Ahmadzai as President of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan

The European Union welcomes the political agreement to form a government of national unity. We would like to congratulate the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan on the inauguration of His Excellency Dr Ashraf Ghani Ahmadzai on 29 September. The first democratic transfer of power in Afghanistan's history is a landmark achievement for the people of Afghanistan. We welcome the President's appointment of His Excellency Dr Abdullah Abdullah as Chief Executive Officer of the new government. We wish them every success in the continuing transformation of Afghanistan.

There are important economic and security challenges ahead, and it will be essential for all parties to continue to work together to build a stronger Afghanistan. The signing of the Bilateral Security Agreement with the United States and the Status of Forces Agreement with NATO, are positive developments, which will provide a basis for continued international assistance to the Afghan National Security Forces.

As one of the largest donors of development and humanitarian aid, the EU remains committed to working closely with Afghanistan to implement urgently needed political and economic reforms, strengthen the rule of law and foster full respect for human rights. We value the activities of the OSCE with Afghanistan such as the Border Management and Staff College in Dushanbe. We remain committed to supporting the OSCE's continuing engagement with Afghanistan.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, ICELAND+, SERBIA* and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, and GEORGIA align themselves with this statement.

- * The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.
- + Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.