PC.DEL/303/09 7 May 2009

ENGLISH only

Prohlášení Statement Déclaration

Vienna 7 May 2009

Permanent Council No. 760 EU Statement on Georgia



České předsednictví v Radě EU

Czech Presidency of the Council of the EU

Présidence tchèque du Conseil de l'UE

2009

The EU is deeply concerned by the signing of agreements by the Russian Federation with the de facto authorities of South Ossetia, Georgia, and Abkhazia, Georgia, on 30 April 2009, aimed at deploying Russian border guards at the administrative boundary lines. This is in contradiction with the six point agreement of August 12, 2008.

The EU recalls its full support to the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Georgia within its internationally recognized borders.

Also, the EU is deeply concerned by the shooting by unknown assailants in the direction of an OSCE monitoring patrol that occurred on 2 May. According to the Spot Report of 4 May, it seemed that the rounds were fired from a South Ossetian checkpoint east of Orchosani. We strongly condemn this act of violence against OSCE staff. Such acts are unacceptable and undermine efforts to de-escalate tension on the ground. The EU urges all parties to refrain from provocative actions and to respect the August 12 agreement .

The EU expresses its concern that the three Co-Chairs of the Geneva talks were not given by the de facto South Ossetian authorities free access to



the territory of South Ossetia, Georgia on May 5th. Such conduct raises unnecessary obstacles to the efforts of the international community to find a meaningful solution to the current situation.

The EU remains committed and is ready to support every effort with a view to reaching a peaceful and lasting solution to the conflict in Georgia. Security matters should be discussed in relevant international fora, in particular the Geneva discussions, the next session of which will take place on 18-19 May 2009.

The candidate countries TURKEY, CROATIA* and FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate countries ALBANIA, BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA and MONTENEGRO, the European Free Trade Association countries and members of the European Economic Area ICELAND and LIECHTENSTEIN, as well as UKRAINE and AZERBAIJAN align themselves with this statement.

*Croatia and Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

Penzingerstrasse 11-13

phone: (+43) 1 899 58 140 | Fax: (+43) 1 894 57 98

Mission Permanente de la République Tchèque auprès de l'OSCE

Permanent Mission of the Czech Republic to the OSCE

E-mail: OSCE.Mission.Vienna@embassy.mzv.cz

www.eu2009.cz