THE MADRID DOCUMENT

The Assembly,

Has adopted the text of the Final Resolution of the Madrid Conference, of 2nd and 3rd

April 1991 concerning the establishment of the CSCE Parliamentary Assembly, as follows:

FINAL RESOLUTION CONCERNING THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE CSCE PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY AGREED AT MADRID, 2ND AND 3RD APRIL 1991.

The delegations of the Parliaments of countries participating in the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, meeting in Madrid on April 2nd and 3rd 1991,

<u>Considering</u> the provisions of the Paris Charter for a New Europe which, in recognition of the important role that parliamentarians can play in the CSCE process, calls for the establishment of a CSCE Parliamentary Assembly,

Considering that the aforesaid Assembly should meet the following criteria: structural simplicity (in view of the simplicity of the CSCE's political structures); plurality in its composition (reflecting the values of pluralistic parliamentary democracy); and willingness to use the resources of other European parliamentary institutions (including the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, the Parliamentary Assembly of the WEU, the North Atlantic Assembly and, at a different level, the European Parliament - all of which must preserve their individual identities and organisational structures while maintaining close cooperative ties with the Assembly now being established).

<u>Agree</u> to establish within the framework of the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe a Parliamentary Assembly which shall function in accordance with the following rules of organisation and operation:

- 1. The CSCE's Parliamentary Assembly will be composed of 245 parliamentarians representing participating countries. The number of Members representing each country shall be as follows:
- A. Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and United States of America: 17
- B. Germany, France, Italy and United Kingdom: 13
- C. Canada and Spain: 10
- D. Belgium, Netherlands, Poland, Sweden and Turkey: 8

- E. Romania and Yugoslavia: 7
- F. Austria, Czech and Slovak Federative Republic, Denmark, Ireland, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Norway, Portugal, Switzerland: 6
- G. Bulgaria, and Luxembourg: 5
- H. Cyprus, Iceland, and Malta: 3
- I. Liechtenstein, Monaco and San Marino: 2

The Holy See may send two representatives to the Assembly's meetings as guests of honour.

- 2. The CSCE's Parliamentary Assembly will hold a plenary annual meeting for a period of not more than five days. This meeting will normally be held during the first week of July in the capital or in another city of a State participating in the CSCE. The host country will provide the necessary support for the organisation and conduct of the meeting.
- 3. There will be a Committee of Heads of delegation composed of one representative from each country participating in the Assembly.
- 4. The purpose of the annual meeting of the Parliamentary Assembly will be:
- a). To assess the implementation of the objectives of the CSCE;
- b). To discuss subjects addressed during the meetings of the Council of Ministers for Foreign Affairs and the biennial Summit of Heads of State or Government;
- c). To initiate and promote whatever measures may further cooperation and security in Europe.
- 5. At its annual meeting, the Parliamentary Assembly may approve declarations, recommendations or proposals, or submit reports on subjects related to its activities. The decisions of the Assembly will be adopted by majority vote of its full membership. In special cases the Committee of Heads of Delegation may determine that a specific agreement would require a two-thirds majority.

The Assembly will provide the Parliaments of States participating in the CSCE with regular reports of its work and will transmit its decisions to the Council of Ministers for its consideration.

6. The Committee of Heads of Delegation will be responsible for taking all decisions concerning the operation, organisation and rules of procedure of the Assembly, as well as those concerning working methods, the establishment of new organs, the budget,

secretariat, agenda, extraordinary meetings and place of meeting. Decisions of the Committee shall be reached by consensus.

- 7. The Assembly will have a small permanent secretariat whose budget, resources, mode of operation and headquarters will be established by the Committee of Heads of Delegation. Until such time as the inaugural meeting called for under the rule 11 is held, the General Secretariats of the Spanish Parliament will perform the customary duties of the secretariat of the Assembly.
- 8. The official languages of the Assembly will be English, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish.
- 9. In recognition of the acknowledged parliamentary experience of the international and supranational organisations mentioned in this Resolution, it was decided to propose to the first meeting of the Parliamentary Assembly that agreements should be reached to permit effective cooperation between these organisations and the Assembly, which might include according observer status.
- 10. The funding necessary for the operations of the Parliamentary Assembly will be apportioned amongst its Members, as from the date of this Resolution, on the basis of an agreement reached by the Committee of Heads of Delegation at its first meeting.
- 11. The Parliamentary Assembly will hold its inaugural meeting during the first week of July 1992, in the city of Budapest. Exceptionally, after discussion within the respective Delegations, the Committee of Heads of Delegation may communicate the position of Delegations forming part of the Assembly, before the Helsinki follow-up meeting to be held in the Spring of 1992.
- 12. The Spanish Parliament, in its capacity as host of this inaugural meeting, will inform the Council of Ministers for Foreign Affairs of the CSCE of the decisions adopted.
- 13. Amendments to the rules set forth in this Resolution will be decided upon by consensus by the Committee of Heads of Delegation of the Parliamentary Assembly.
- 14. The delegations present at the Madrid meeting, the first Official gathering of parliamentarians representing the Parliaments of the thirty-four signatory States of the CSCE, express their profound appreciation to the Spanish Government and Spanish Parliament for their initiative in organising the Madrid meeting and for their outstanding contribution to the establishment of a permanent CSCE Assembly. The delegations express their particular gratitude to the President of the Spanish Congress of Deputies.

And has adopted the amendments to the Final Resolution of the Madrid Conference agreed by the Committee of Heads of Delegation in accordance with Article 13 of the Final Resolution, namely:

Article 1, line 12, to read:

"H. Albania, Cyprus, Estonia, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania and Malta: 3".

Article 5, line 3, delete "majority vote of its full Membership" and insert "a majority of votes cast".

Article 10, line 3, delete from "an" to the end of the sentence, and insert "the formula used to divide the costs of the Ministerial Conferences".