

PC.DEL/121/13 28 February 2013

ENGLISH only

EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council Nr 942 Vienna, 28 February 2013

EU statement on the elections in Armenia

The EU would like to draw attention to the joint statement by EU High Representative Catherine Ashton and Commissioner Štefan Füle on the elections in Armenia.

"We have taken note of the preliminary results of the presidential elections held in Armenia on 18 February, and welcome the statement of preliminary findings and conclusions of the International Election Observation Mission on the conduct of elections.

We welcome further progress made by the Armenian authorities in their efforts to hold these presidential elections in line with international standards, notably through improved administration of the electoral process, ensuring possibilities for candidates to campaign freely and better quality of the voter lists.

At the same time, we expect a number of outstanding concerns to be followed up appropriately in the future, including reported instances of partiality by public servants, claims of misuse of administrative resources, unclear interpretation of campaign financing provisions and cases of pressure on voters. We also encourage the Armenian authorities to undertake an inclusive and transparent process of amendments to the election-related legislation, in line with the OSCE/ODIHR's recommendations following the parliamentary elections of May2012."

We look forward to receiving the ODIHR final report on the elections in due course. We encourage the Government of Armenia to continue to work with the OSCE/ODIHR to address the issues raised in that and previous election observation mission reports.

The Acceding Country Croatia*, the Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Iceland+ and Serbia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA country Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova, align themselves with this statement.

* Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.