



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council Nr 1004 Vienna, 12 June 2014

EU Statement on the Legislative Elections in Kosovo on 8 June 2014

The European Union welcomes the 8 June legislative elections in Kosovo¹ as the first ones of this kind to take place in a uniform way in all regions of Kosovo. These elections are a step forward in the consolidation of Kosovo's democracy.

The OSCE, through its mission in Kosovo and the Secretariat, has played an active and important role in supporting these elections in northern Kosovo. These efforts again highlight the important contribution that the Organisation can make to regional peace and security.

The EU attaches great importance to the peaceful, free and fair conduct of these elections in line with international standards and, as a consequence, deployed an Electoral Observation Mission (EOM) headed by Chief Observer Roberto Gualtieri in order to provide a fair assessment of the electoral process. The preliminary statement of the EOM confirms that the elections took place in an orderly manner.

Electoral reform remains a key priority in Kosovo. We expect that the recommendations of the EOM will be issued shortly so that they can be taken into account in the context of the completion of these important electoral reforms. We are now looking forward to the early formation of a government that will take forward

¹ This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSC 1244 and the ICJ Opinion

on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence

the work on all key challenges, including economic reforms, efforts to improve the rule of law as well as continuing with the implementation of the April 2013 Agreement.

The European Union remains fully committed to the European perspective of Kosovo and will continue to support Kosovo's efforts in this respect.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, ICELAND+, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidates ALBANIA and BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

- * The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Montenegro continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.
- + Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.